Orphan?

So my adoptive mother and I have had no contact since July 2013.

My natural mother seems to have given up, and we have the kind of cordial relationship you’d expect of distant cousins you only see a couple of times a year.

My adoptive father was killed in a car crash when I was 20, and we didn’t have very much of a relationship after my parents broke up when I was 15.

My natural father is aware of my existence, and that’s about it.

Can I consider myself an orphan?

How very maudlin of me.

Good job I’m pretty independent, aye?

Leave a Reply

